The Lion at Leintwardine -Bar, Restaurant, Rooms

Customer Testimonials

Below is a selection of testimonials that our customers have given to us:

Picturesque and lovely food - “Picturesque and lovely food - Called in on the off chance on the way back from Knighton.
So glad we did, had a wonderful light lunch, ordered Steak sandwich and the ham and cheese. It was superb. The surroundings were lovely and so were the staff.
Will certainly be visiting again and recommending it to our friends.”
Guest: Tripadviser Reviewed | Date. 17/10/2016
Excellent location and even better food! - "Excellent location and even better food! - We popped in here during a three day exploration of south Shropshire and Herefordshire. In truth we hardly found any pubs offering anything close to the level of excellence, good service, location and value that the Lion provides. We had a drink at lunchtime sitting by the beautiful river overlooking the fields and hills (the landscape around here is magical yet little known) but went back that evening for a meal...not realising that booking a table is a must. However, the staff were so welcoming and helpful and managed to find us a table in one of the Lion's many comfortable nooks and crannys. The food was superb...excellent homemade pea and mint soup; the fish pie was cooked fresh and the best I have had in many years of eating out and travelling; the mixed green veg were perfectly cooked as well. The whole ambience of the place is lovely. The main surprise was just how reasonably priced food and drink is....in our 'homeland' of Surrey it wold have been twice the price and not half as good! I cannot recommend the Lion and it's staff highly enough. Go visit, you will not be disappointed...but remember to book”
Guest: Tripadviser Reviewed | Date. 17/10/2016
Stay in Ludlow - “Stay in Ludlow - What a fantastic place, beautiful surroundings, good selection of food on the menu. Our meal was produced in perfect time and very flavoursome. Very attentive and helpful staff, which take great pride in there place of work. Have already re-booked. Around 10 minute drive too Ludlow. This place is a true gem, I'm very much looking forward to revisiting.”
Guest: Tripadviser Reviewed | Date. 17/10/2016
Fabulous short break - “Fabulous short break - We stayed 2 nights at The Lion, great welcome and introduction to the hotel on arrival and great service from super friendly staff, very clean and comfortable rooms, lovely breakfast on both days, superb evening meal in the Lounge Bar, would definitely stay again and recommend to everyone.”
Guest: Tripadviser Reviewed | Date. 17/10/2016
Lunch At The Lion - “Lunch At The Lion - Sat outside for lunch on the patio area,very sunny,very warm, Very pleasant.Food was very good sensible portions just right.I had the prawns then the Crab all prepared very well EXCELLENT STAFF ! ! ! Very attentive and helpful,i cannot fault anything here. 
Definatly going back,this time dinner”
Guest: Tripadviser Reviewed | Date. 17/10/2016
A marvellous setting for a stay - “A marvellous setting for a stay - We knew we wanted to stay in this area, having previously stayed in Ludlow. This place was a delight. The location, with lawns and trees beside a beautiful river, is great and the quiet yet beautiful old village of Leintwardine adds character and unspoilt tranquility to this old inn.

Our ensuite room was well-equipped and looked out across the lawns to the river and old bridge. Comfortable and easy to access. The food we hadn't realised would be quite that good! A very much above-average gastropub with some very good dishes and attentive staff.

Ludlow, round the corner, as it were, has a reputation for gastronomic venues and it's a lovely old market town. But it can be very busy and awkward to park in which possibly detracts for some. By contrast, this spot is so tranquil and offers many options in a beautiful spot providing an excellent base for visiting the area (including Ludlow if desired).”
Guest: Tripadviser Reviewed | Date. 17/10/2016
Amazing pub - “Amazing pub - This has to be one of the best dining pubs in the area. As well as being able to eat outside in the garden there is a restaurant with both indoor and outdoor seating. The 18th century Lion is idyllically located next to the river. We called in for a light lunch consisting of dressed crab salad and the best roast beef sandwich with french fries The beef was thick cut and beautifully tender and tasty. The staff were very attentive and all very smartly dressed in black. Overall a magical experience.”
Guest: Tripadviser Reviewed | Date. 17/10/2016
Perfect evening - My darling girlfriend and I had dinner here last night, after recommendations from our hotel and trip advisor. What and evening! Firstly location, wow! Situated right next to a tranquil river that flows under a lovely bridge. We were greet by very friendly staff and decided to sit outside on the very large garden area and enjoy a glass of red before we sat down to eat. Service was prompt and came with a smile. The waitress, who's name escapes me I am ashamed to say, was more than happy to stage a small photo shoot for us as well ( The Mrs loves a photo). We went for the house Cabernet Sauvignon which to my surprise was lovely! (Often I find the house reds to be very metallic). After enjoying a glass of red with our beautiful surrounding we ventured inside and were shown to a lovely table straight away. Again service was prompt and both starter and mains were brought out pretty quickly. Make no mistake! The food was still prepared fresh and was displayed very well. We both started with the cray fish cakes and I then followed with the fish pie and my other half with the pork belly. All were absolutely delicious! We shared a cheeseboard to finish as we were content with the meals already consumed in terms of flavour and quantity! We talked, laughed and drank at our table until we were the last ones left with nobody ushering us to leave, only asking if there was anything we would like. Now to top off this wonderful evening, as I was settling the extremely reasonable bill, the waitress who's name still escapes me (I believer she was the manager), announced she would take us home as we would struggle to get a taxi. We had a lovely conversation as she dropped us to our front door and then refused any form of payment. I would like to thank you and your team for making our evening so special. We will DEFINITELY return at some point, I imagine to also stay at your hotel. 5 bloody stars.
Guest: Calum Welch, Sydney, Australia | Date. 8/08/2017
A great 3 night break - We recently stayed here for 3 nights.
The pub is located by the river and sipping a few drinks in the garden whilst the sun goes down was delightful.
Although close to the main road, we did not experience any undue noise despite leaving our bedroom windows open at night. The 740 bus to Ludlow stops opposite the pub – a 20 minute drive into town was a much appreciated break from driving and Ludlow itself is a great place to explore.
Our rooms were spacious and well- appointed with large comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent and a good range of ales / ciders is available in the bar.
We dined here all three nights and most of the food was excellent.
Service throughout was first class and friendly.
Dinner, bed and breakfast, including most drinks cost us around £155 per night which we felt was good value for what was on offer.
We’d certainly stay here again if visiting the area.
Guest: surreybaggie54, Surrey, United Kingdom | Date. 25/07/2017
Fabulous Stay - This place is lovely. The bar, restaurant and rooms are all clean, modern and welcoming.
The staff couldn't do enough for us and there were 7 of us.
Menu has a great range and we all enjoyed our meals. All fresh, tasty and good portion sizes.
Guest: Mrs F from Manchester | Date. 3/09/2017
Our Weekend at the Lion - We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at The Lion in Leintwardine to celebrate a family birthday and enjoy the delights of north Herefordshire. We cannot recommend The Lion too highly; the staff were all incredibly friendly and ultra professional and determined to ensure that we had a successful visit. From the booking arrangements that were efficient and comprehensive, the food, wine and restaurant service that was 5 star and the accommodation that was luxurious and extremely comfortable; this all resulted in a memorable and very happy weekend. We are hugely grateful and look forward to visiting again very soon.
Guest: Tripadviser Reviewed | Date. 1/12/2014
Reunion - Four couples stayed for two nights at the Lion on our annual reunion. The staff were unfailingly helpful, friendly and polite with nothing too much trouble. Great food each night from a varied menu. Comfortable rooms and ready help with our luggage. Bus right outside for our visit to Ludlow. Lovely position on the river in the pretty village of Leintwardine - itself a very friendly place. We plan to return as a couple in the New Year. Thank you all for your welcome and ready willingness to help.
Guest: Tripadviser Reviewed | Date. 1/10/2014
Great Escape - This little diamond is tucked away near Ludlow. beautiful surroundings, excellent riverside spot.
We stayed for two nights and it was a wonderful place to wind down and be pampered. Meals are excellent and generous in portions, we enjoyed the local ale selection and Tuesday was steak night which was fabulous value. The staff were very attentive to the smallest detail and we particularly enjoyed the squishy sofas where we sat with our books and enjoying drinks from the bar.
The rooms are perfect. Old style, traditional wooden furniture with modern wall paper and colour accents to compliment. Clean, warm and a bed so very comfortable we slept well. Breakfasts were freshly made and very tasty. A beautiful blend of old history and modern warmth we fully recommend this Hotel for an idyllic stay.
Guest: Tripadviser Reviewed | Date. 1/08/2014
Fabulous Place - My husband and myself came here for our silver wedding anniversary. The room was fabulous and our evening meal was equally good. Great menu , lovely wines and very friendly staff. Would highly recommend it to everyone for that special occasion.
Guest: Tripadviser Reviewed | Date. 1/05/2014
Rating **** Sharon Walters spends an idyllic Sunday by the Teme. - When days are sunny there's nothing nicer than sitting alongside a river for a drink and something to eat.
And last Sunday with the rays beaming down my thoughts turned to where I could go to do just that.
Two friends had recommended a visit to the Lion at Leintwardine, on the south Shropshire border near Ludlow, and as it sits alongside the Teme I decided to pay a visit. A call to make sure they had room was affirmative and I was asked if we wanted to sit outside - yes, as long as we could go inside should the weather change! No problem, was the answer.
Please read the full review at:- Read full review
Guest: Shropshire Star | Date. 26/04/2011
Beer in the Evening - Newly restored to it's former glory, the Lion opened this weekend. Lovely furnishings, wonderful menu, great beer. And it WON"T FLOOD ANYMORE thanks to new river defences. Good Luck, Lion
Guest: Beer in the Evening | Date. 1/02/2011

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
"The Lion at Leintwardine -Bar, Restaurant, Rooms"

01547 540 203 enquiries@thelionleintwardine.co.uk

Call us for reservations & availability on 01547 540 203 or Book Online

The Lion at Leintwardine
Leintwardine
Craven Arms
Shropshire
(Click here to find us) - SY7 0JZ